This is a searchable database with all the NBA finals winners.

The NBA Finals is the championship series of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The series was named the NBA World Championship Series until 1986.

The series is played between the winners of Western Conference Finals and Eastern Conference Finals. At the conclusion of the championship round, the winners of the NBA Finals are awarded the Larry O'Brien Championship Trophy and are World Champions. (Winners from 1946 to 1977 received the Walter A. Brown Trophy) The NBA Finals has been played at the conclusion of every NBA and BAA season in history, the first being held in 1947.

Since 1985, the winner of the NBA Finals has been determined through a 2-3-2 format. The first two and the last two games of the series are played at the arena of the team who earned home court advantage by having the better record during the regular season (source:


Feel free to search for a team (with a keyword such as Lakers
for the Los Angeles Lakers (search only in WINNER)
or you could type 1975
to see which teams played in the 1975/76 season.

Possibly you may get a pop-up box saying: 'Security warning: The information you have entered on this page will be sent over an insecure connection and could be read by a third party. Are you sure you want to send this information?' Just click 'Continue' or 'yes'. This is related to the fact that (only) this specific part of the script doesn't work with https transmissions. Rest assured that you are *not* sending any of your personal or any other sensitive data. Merely the search word(s)!

Search by Keywords:

Search for results containing ANY or ALL
of these words or phrases.

Search only in: (optional)