Clive James

Clive James books, novels and short biography

Clive James AO CBE (born Vivian Leopold James on 7 October 1939) Australian author, critic, broadcaster, poet, translator and memoirist, best known for his autobiographical series Unreliable Memoirs, for his chat shows and documentaries on British television and for his prolific journalism. He has lived and worked in the United Kingdom since the early 1960s. In 1992, he was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM). This was upgraded to Officer level (AO) in the 2013 Australia Day Honours.

James was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the 2012 New Year Honours for services to literature and the media. In 2003 he was awarded the Philip Hodgins Memorial Medal for Literature. He has received honorary doctorates from the Universities of Sydney and the East Anglia. In April 2008, James was awarded a Special Award for Writing and Broadcasting by the judges of the Orwell Prize. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2010 (source:


1974 The Metropolitan Critic
1975 The Fate of Felicity Fark in the Land of the Media: a moral poem
1976 Peregrine Prykke's Pilgrimage Through the London Literary World
1976 Britannia Bright's Bewilderment in the Wilderness of Westminster
1977 Fan-mail: seven verse letters
1977 Visions Before Midnight: television criticism from the Observer 1972-76
1979 At the Pillars of Hercules
1980 Autobiography Unreliable Memoirs
1981 Charles Charming's Challenges on the Pathway to the Throne
1981 The Crystal Bucket: television criticism from the Observer 1976-79
1982 From the Land of Shadows
1983 Brilliant Creatures
1983 Poem of the Year
1983 Glued to the Box: television criticism from the Observer 1979-82
1984 Flying Visits: Postcards from the Observer, 1976-83
1985 Autobiography Falling Towards England
1986 Other Passports: poems 1958-1985
1987 The Remake
1988 Snakecharmers in Texas: essays 1980-87
1990 Autobiography May Week Was in June
1991 Clive James On Television A one-volume edition of the television criticism books
1991 Brrm! Brrm! Released in the United States as The Man From Japan (1993)
1992 The Dreaming Swimmer: , 1987-1992
1993 Fame in the 20th Century
1996 The Silver Castle
2003 The Book of My Enemy Poetry and lyrics
2004 Even as We Speak: New Essays 1993-2001
2005 The Meaning of Recognition: New Essays 2001-2005
2006 Autobiography North Face of Soho
2007 Cultural Amnesia: Necessary Memories from History and the Arts
2009 Autobiography The Blaze of Obscurity
2009 Opal Sunset: Selected Poems 1958-2009
2009 The Revolt of the Pendulum: Essays 2005-2009
2011 A Point of View Reproductions of sixty BBC Radio 4 10-minute segments from 2007 to 2009
2013 Translation (Epic Poem) Dante's Divine Comedy